Registration information and Form
Those who have registered
Those who are planning to attend
Those who have expressed interest in attending
Subjects of talks proposed to be presented so far
Subject ideas for talks that might be presented
Jaffrey Civic Center, our main venue
Accommodation options
Links relative to Jaffrey and the region
Download a flyer
Updates & E-mails
Comments during preliminary planning from those who might attend

Original e-mail sent out 1 March 2011.

Dear Antarctican,

This e-mail is going out to over 150 people (see names below) who might be interested in knowing about and perhaps attending a gathering in Jaffrey, New Hampshire, over the weekend of 15-17 June 2012.

This gathering will focus primarily on 1) the Antarctic and 2) Books.

Likely attendees will be Antarcticans who are book collectors, librarians, archivists, writers, publishers or historians.

Attendance will be limited to 100 but preferably the number will be less so as to encourage participation by all.

Full details—which will develop, expand and no doubt change over the next year plus—may be found at


Many of those below will have little or no interest in this, and are unlikely to attend. For others, because of distance, attendance will be impractical. Nonetheless, even if you have no interest in attending, I would welcome your comments and suggestions.

Robert Stephenson
Coordinator, The Antarctic Circle

This e-mail has been sent to the following. If there's someone not on this list that you think would be interested, feel free to forward this on.

Gordon Bain
Stephanie Barczewski
Susan Barr
Chris Bartle
Nicholas Basbanes
Tim Baughman
John Bockstoce
Naomi Boneham
John & Sue Bonham
Joan Boothe
John Bowles
Antony & Jill Bowring
Franklin Brooke-Hitching
Ken Bures
Robert H. Burton
Angie Butler
William Cabeen
G. M. Calhoun
Leonie Cash
Paul Chaplin
Geoffrey Clark
Mary Royds Cleveland
Joanna Condon
Larry Conrad
Trevor Cornford
Stanley Cushing
Regina Daly
Paul Davies
Richard Dehmel
Lucia deLeiris
Prof Julian Dowdeswell
Wendy Driver
Anna Dunsheath
Tim Dye
Chris Edwards
Jeff and Juliet Evans
Ran Fiennes
Julia Finn
Joe Fitzsimmons
Clare Flemming
Philippa Foster Back OBE
William Fox
Peter Fuchs
Greg Glade
David Godine
Raimund Goerler
Martin Greene
Jane Gregory
Rosemary Groves
Guy Guthridge
Stephen Haddelsey
Robin Hanbury-Tenison
David Harrowfield
Bob Headland
John Hemming
Tom Henderson
Kari Herbert
Gloria Hicks
Lisa Hofmeister
Meredith Hooper
Mark James
Max Jones
Bob Karrow
Laura Kissel
Geir O. Kløver
Phil Kolvoord
Valmar Kurol
Charles Lagerbom
Nick Lambourn
Heather Lane
Bruce Larsen
Sally Larsen
Elizabeth Leane
Stuart Leggatt
Gretchen Legler
Huw Lewis-Jones
Dr Ruth Lightbourne
David & Cathy Lilburne
Nancy Liston
Katie Lord
Calista Lucy
Julian MacKenzie
Ross MacPhee
Lucy Martin
Allen Mawer
Jim McAdam
James J. McCarthy
Stephanie A. McDonald
Rhod McEwan
David McGonigal
Colin Monteath
Rachel Morgan
Margot Morrell
Ian Morrison
Shane Murphy
Denis O'Connell
Joe O'Farrell
Wilson Orist
Dion Owens
Merlyn Paine
Mark Pharaoh
Jan Piggott
Jay Platt
Robert B. Pope, Jr.
Russell Potter
Gill Poulter
Patrick Quilty
William Reese
Julien Renard
Beau Riffenburgh
Leslie Carol Roberts
David Roberts
Lisa Roberts
Lisle Rose
Michael Rosove
Bill Ross
Chet Ross
Heather Rossiter
Jeff Rubin
Erica Ryan
Julian Salisbury
Matthew Salisbury
Jay Satterfield
Shirley Sawtell
Falcon Scott
Stephen Scott-Fawcett
Jonathan Shackleton
Ann Savours Shirley
Philip Sidney
John & Sue Simper
Judy Skelton
Michael Smith
Andie Smithers
John Splettstoesser
David Stam
Deirdre Stam
Craig Stanton
Will Steger
Glenn Marty Stein
John Stewart
Ian Stone
Sarah Strong
Emma Stuart
Ed Stump
Geoff Swinney
Charles Swithinbank
Frank Taaffe
Seamus Taaffe
Mike Tarver
David Tatham
Mark Tewfik
Cameron Treleaven
Elizabeth Truswell
Jackie Ronne Tupek
Kelly Tyler-Lewis
Alex Vogel
David W H Walton
Michael Warr
Nigel Watson
Neale Webb
Dan Weinstein
Sara Wheeler
Edward Widmer
Isobel Williams
David Wilson
Richard Wolak
Rose Young
Warren Zapol